An initiative supported by the college deans and Provost, the College Liaison program is designed to strengthen the process of recruiting excellent faculty members to Virginia Tech.

College Liaisons support the faculty recruitment efforts in each college by meeting individually with candidates to discuss Virginia Tech’s dual career resources, extend-the-tenure-clock policies, modified duties polices, commitment to diversity, community resources, and to refer candidates to appropriate resources for additional information. These meetings are confidential and separate from the formal search process.

The role of the Liaison is designed to meet the unique needs of each college. In some colleges, in addition to meeting with candidates, the College Liaison may also help shape search processes,  and answer questions from search committee members. 

2016-2017 College Liaisons

Agriculture and Life Sciences: Jay Williams (jhwms@vt.edu)
Architecture and Urban Studies: Elizabeth Grant (elgrant2@vt.edu)
Engineering: Mike Garvin (garvin@vt.edu
                               Kray Luxbacher (madavis7@vt.edu)
                               Marie Paretti (mparetti@vt.edu)

Liberal Arts and Human Sciences: Barbara Ellen Smith (smithbe@vt.edu
                                                                              Pamela Teaster (pteaster@vt.edu)
Natural Resources and Environment: Candice Albert (clowman@vt.edu)
Pamplin College of Business: Kay Hunnings (huningsk@vt.edu
                                                                   Robin Russell (rrussell@vt.edu)
Science: Maddy Schreiber (mschreib@vt.edu)
                    Lizette Zietsman (lzietsma@vt.edu)
Veterinary Medicine: Bill Huckle  (wrhuckle@vt.edu)
                                                   Karen Inzana (kdyer@vt.edu)
                                                   Terry Swecker(cvmwss@vt.edu)